Contact us

- Province Guide
- Places of interest
- Activities
- Annual Events
- Budget accommodation
- Accommodation
- Tourist Information
- Geographical Information

Geographical Information


Namibia at a glance:
Country name: Republic of Namibia
Area: 825,418 kmē
Population: 2 million (UN estimate 2005)
Population density: 2.43 per sq km.
Population growth: 1.19%
Birth Rate: 34.17 births/1000 population
People: 86% African (50% Owambo, 9% Kavango, 7% Herero, 7% Damara, 5% Nama, 4% Caprivian, 3% San, 2% Baster, 0.5% Tswana), 7.4% mixed, 6.6% white
Language: English, Afrikaans, German, Herero
Religion: Christian, Lutheran and native beliefs 10% (including Muslim and Hindu)
Literacy: 65% of total population, Female 31% Male 45%
Government: Republic
Republic of Namibia, is a country in southern Africa on the Atlantic coast. It shares borders with Angola and Zambia to the north, Botswana to the east, and South Africa to the south. Namibia gained independence from South Africa in 1990 and its capital city is Windhoek (German: Windhuk). Namibia is a member state of the United Nations (UN), the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU), and the Commonwealth of Nations. It is named after the Namib Desert.

Namibia can be divided into four major geographical segments. In the west stretches the Namib Desert with hardly any vegetation. It reaches from the north of South Africa up to Angola. The desert belt has a width of about 100 kms in the south and 1100 kms in the north, gets up to 600 metres high and is characterised by mighty expanses of sand dunes in its central part. In the north and the south it has predominantly gravel fields. Towards the inland, the desert belt is followed by the "Escarpment", a mountain wall of up to 2000 metres. Namibia's highest mountain is the Brandberg with a height of 2579 m.